In that state of Arkansas, your license can be suspended in two ways following a DUI arrest or conviction. One is administrative and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you refuse to take a breathalyzer or your fail a breathalyzer test, your license will be automatically suspended. However, you will be provided with a temporary license that is good for a period of 30 days. During this period, you can elect to challenge the suspension of your license.
Judicial: Your license can also be suspended as part of a court judgment or as part of a plea agreement made with the prosecutor.
Any person in the state of Arkansas that is convicted of a DUI offence must install an ignition interlock system in his or her vehicle, in addition to other penalties.
|Offense||Jail Time||Fines||Suspension Length|
|1st||1 – 365 days||$150 – $1000||120 days|
|2nd||7 – 365 days or 30 days of community service||$400 – $3,000 plus court costs||Up to 2 years (with an interlock device after 1 year)|
|3rd||90 – 365 days or 90 days of community service||$900 – $5,000||30 months (with an interlock device after 1 year)|
|All Others||1 – 6 years or 10 years of community service||Up to $5,000||4 years (revoked)|
Also, a third DUI conviction (and any subsequent convictions) are felonies in the state of Arkansas.