In the state of California, your license can be suspended as part of a DUI offence is one or two ways:
Administrative: The Department of Motor Vehicles will immediately suspend your license of your BAC is .08 or higher. You will, however, be provided with a temporary license which will last for 30 days.
Judicial: Your license can also be suspended as part of a court judgment or as part of a plea agreement entered into with the prosecutor.
If an individual is convicted of a DUI offence in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento Counties, or Tulare, then that individual will be required to install an ignition interlock device on any car that they operate. Elsewhere, the court may require an ignition interlock device depending upon its discretion. In addition to this, a drunk driving offence can be either a misdemeanor or a felony in the state of California. In general, one’s first, second or third offence will be charged as a misdemeanor. However, this is not always the case, and if the drunk driving incident involved an accident, injury or death, it will most likely be charged as a felony, no matter what number incident it is.
The duration of the period in which an individual must have an interlock device installed varies widely:
|# of Offences in 10 years||Misdemeanor Interlock Period||Felony Interlock Period||Period of Suspension||Can Apply for a Restricted License after|
|1||5 months||12 months||6 months||The court’s discretion|
|2||12 months||24 months||2 years||90 days|
|3||24 months||36 months||3 years||18 months|
|4 and up||36 months||48 months||4 years||18 months|