New York

There are two ways in which your license can be suspended. One is administrative and the other judicial.

Administrative: If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test or fail such a test, then your license will be immediately suspended. You will then be given a temporary permit, which will allow you to continue to drive for a period 10 days. During this period, you will be allowed to challenge your suspension. If you elect not to challenge the suspension, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, then your license will remain suspended after the expiration of the temporary permit until the prosecution of your case has been completed.

Judicial: The courts may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement that you enter into with the prosecutor.

In the state of New York, if you are convicted of a DUI offense, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in every car that you own or is registered to you. Also, you will be responsible for any associated fees and costs for having the device or devices installed and monitored. Once the device is installed, you will need to keep it for a minimum period of 6 months. In the case of an especially egregious offence or repeat offences, the devsice will need to remain in your automobiles for a duration that is equivalent to your revocation period, as well as any probationary period.

Offense Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $500 – $1000 1 year or less 6 months
2nd $1000 – $5000 5 days – 4 years 1 year
3rd + 4th $2000 – $10000 10 days – 7 years 1 year
4th $2000 – $10000 10 days – 7 years Revoked

You may be able to obtain a restricted license, which will allow you to drive for various approved purposes. Also, please not that the penalties may be in excess of the above if your BAC at the time of arrest was .18 or greater.