North Carolina

In the state of North Carolina, there are two ways in which your license can be suspended as the result of a DUI. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.

Administrative: If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test or fail one at the scene, then your license will be suspended and confiscated. You will then be given a temporary permit that will allow you to continue driving for a period of 30 days. During this 30-day period, you will be able to challenge the suspension of your license. If you elect not to make such a challenge, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, then you will be given a restricted license that allows you to drive for only approved purposes.

Judicial: In addition to the above, the courts may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or a plea agreement made with the prosecutor of your case.

Offense Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $2000 – $4000 1 day – 2 years 1 year
2nd $2000 – $4000 7 days – 2 years 1 year – 4 years
3rd $2000 – $4000 7 days – 2 years Revoked
4th Court’s discretion 1 year – 5 years Revoked

The above penalties are only a guideline, as the courts may adjust these penalties depending upon the circumstance of the DUI.

You will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your first offence if your BAC is .15 or higher, and for all second and subsequent offences.