In the state of South Carolina there are two ways that your license can be suspended as the result of a DUI offence. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer, or if you fail such a test, then your license will be immediately suspended and revoked. In its place, you will be given a temporary license, which will allow you to continue driving for a 10-day period. During this period you will be able to challenge your suspension. If you elect not to challenge, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, then your license will be suspended for a period of 6 months following the expiration of the temporary license. Following this suspension period, you will be given a restricted license, which will allow you to drive for certain approved purposes.
Judicial: The courts in South Carolina may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement entered into with the prosecutor.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$1000 or less||2 days to 90 days||6 months|
|2nd||$6500 or less||3 days to 3 years||1 year|
|3rd||$10000 or less||60 days to 3 years||2 years|
|4th||$25000 or less||1 year to 7 years||Permanent|
Please note that the above is only a guideline, as the state of Maryland weighs the severity of the DUI in issuing its penalties. Also note that a fourth DUI offense in the state of Maryland is considered to be a felony.