In the state of Tennessee, there are two ways in which your license can be suspended as the result of a DUI. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: Your license will be suspended if you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to submit to one. You will be given a 10-day temporary permit, which will allow you to continue driving. During this period, you can challenge your suspension. If you fail to issue a challenge, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, then your suspension will continue. However, on a first or second offence, you may be able to apply for a restricted license, depending upon the severity of the DUI. For a third or subsequent offence, you will have to wait out your suspension until you are eligible to apply for a restricted license. With these restricted licenses, you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed in each car that you own or is registered in your name.
Judicial: The courts in Tennessee may also suspend you license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement that you reach with the prosecutor.
Please note that the state of Tennessee requires an ignition interlock device to be installed in all DUI cases.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$350 to $1500||2 days to 1 year||1 year|
|2nd||$600 to $3500||45 days to 1 year||2 years|
|3rd||$1100 to $10000||120 days to 1 year||6 years|
|4th||$3000 to $15000||150 days to 6 years||8 years|