A conviction for driving under the influence in the state of Kentucky may result in the court-ordered installation of an ignition interlock device in each of the offender’s motor vehicles. In addition to this, the penalties for DUI offences vary depending upon the driver’s record.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$200 to $500 + $375 service fee||48 hours||30 to 120 days|
|2nd||$350 to $500 + $375 service fee||7 days – 6 months||12 – 18 months (or earlier with an ignition interlock device)|
|3rd||$500 to $1000 + $375 service fee||30 days – 12 months||24 – 36 months (or earlier with an ignition interlock device)|
|4th||At the court’s discrention||120 days or more||60 months (or earlier with an ignition interlock device)|
There are some other things to note about Kentucky’s DUI laws:
- An offender who has 2 or more previous DUI offences must surrender their license plates to the state while serving their suspension.
- Even after the suspension period is over, a driver using an ignition interlock system may be required to continue using it for an addition 6 to 30 months.
- For especially egregious DUIs, the penalties will likely be in excess of what you find above.
- An offender may also be required to seek treatment for substance abuse.